Events | Arts | Entertainment

What's on in Sedgefield and the surrounding area.

Event Updates/News


You are most welcome to join in Sedgefield Area Churches Together on-line Easter Service, which can be found here from Easter Sunday. Alternatively, go to YouTube and search for Sedgefield Area Churches Together Easter Service 2021. Many people from various congregations in the area have come together to make this happen. Thanks to St. Michael's School, Bishop Middleham; St. William's Catholic Academy, Trimdon; St. Edmund's; the Methodist Church; New Generation Church and other friends; St. John Fisher; PLW Event Management; and Count Durham Community Fund.
SEDGEFIELD LIBRARY
It is too soon to know when our library will open again, but if you have internet access, check these... www.durham.gov.uk/libraryonline for updates and information and to updated with any service changes.
Facebook @CountyDurhamLibraries It is absolutely full of interest. We recommend following them.

If you are a library member, you can borrow a huge range of e-books, e-audiobooks, e-magazines, e-newspapers and e-comics free of charge. All you need to access these is your library card and an internet.
For more information visit www.durham.gov.uk/pickandcollect


Durham Youth Council Young People’s Awards
This year, Durham Youth Council have been asked to plan and host an awards event to recognise and celebrate the achievements of young people and those who support and advocate for young people.

The event is planned for the Easter Holidays, so the nomination processes have now started. Anyone can nominate a person or young person for the awards and there are several categories. The winners will receive an award and a gift box which will be posted to them after the event. Nominations close on 19th March. More details and to nominate, go to: https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/TWZTSTW
Ferryhill, Sedgefield & District Flower Club
Members of the Flower Club please note, that we are unable to recommence our Flower Club programme in June, as hoped. Covid restrictions prevent this unfortunately.

As long as restrictions allow, we will recommence on 20th July (Members night) with our AGM and a short demonstration by Val Guest. We intend to try to have a surprise for members in August. Obviously this is entirely dependent on Covid restrictions! We will keep in touch.

NAFAS have announced that it is National Flower Arranging Day on 7 May. They have suggested that all NAFAS members fasten a small floral tribute to their front door, gate or fence to celebrate the day. Previously, they have urged members to put small floral tributes around their own local areas, encouraging local people to take home the tributes to enjoy. Unfortunately, this is not encouraged in the present climate.

The committee thank you for your continued support and we hope to meet up again very soon.

If anyone is interested in joining the Flower Club, we will meet up on the 3rd Tuesday in the month at 7.30 pm in Parish Hall, Sedgefield. We would love to meet you and welcome you to our Club. Any enquiries to 07533 752870.

Submit your events/updates or information to

Diary dates to diary.news@sedgefielddevelopmenttrust.co.uk
Arts & Events to sedgefieldartsandevents@outlook.com
Event Posters to sedgefieldweb@hotmail.co.uk

Regular Events & Activities

Sedgefield Library

Check with the club for COVID-19 updates.
Usual Opening Hours:
Wednesdays: 9:30am-12:30pm
Thursdays: 10am-6pm
Fridays: 1pm-7pm
Saturdays: 9:30am-12:30pm

Thursdays 10:30-12:30: Basic computing, tailored to your needs.
Thursdays 2.15pm: 'Boogie Beat' Pre-school session. Booking reqd.
Craft Group: 1.30pm 2nd & 4th Friday
Book Circle: 2pm 3rd Friday. New members welcome. New Borrow Box Service. Download the app and gain access to audio e-books or audio books on computer, tablet or mobile phone. This is a free service to all our members. More information at the library. Summer Reading Challenge: Space Chase, limited spaces, please book

Tel: 03000 269521


The Hub

Sedgefield Community College
Closed due to COVID-19.
New Dance Generation: Monday U9s 5-5.45pm. Over 9s 5.45-6.30pm
Clubbercise:Tue 6.00pm
Zumba: Tue 6.30pm & Thurs 7pm
Blade Taekwondo: Sat 10.30am
Call 01740 617882 for all enquiries


Sedgefield Community Association

Ceddesfeld Hall is closed with immediate effect. In line with Government advice, relating to Coronavirus, COVID-19, Ceddesfeld Hall is closed from Tuesday 17th March, initially for two months. All SCA events up to mid July have been cancelled. Very best wishes to all members and patrons of Ceddesfeld Hall.


Sedgefield Social Club

Check with the club for COVID-19 updates. Usually Entertainment every Saturday. Telephone Number: 01740 620591


St John Fisher Catholic Church

Check with the contacts for COVID-19 updates. Wed & Fri mornings, 9.45am. Sunday 10.45am with Children's Liturgy in term time. Adoration on Thursday at 7pm. Legion of Mary meeting Friday mornings after Mass. To contact The Parish Office, email parishsecretary1961@btconnect.com


New Generation Church

Check here for COVID-19 updates.


One Step Forward Bereavement Support Group

Check with the contacts for COVID-19 updates. One Step Forward is a group offering mutual support after bereavement. We meet every Thursday from 3pm to 5pm in The Welcome Room in St. Edmund's Church. Further details from Panny Pighills: 01740 620909/07443 423113

Sedgefield Methodist Hall Non-Profit Playgroup

Check with the contacts for COVID-19 updates. Mon, Wed & Thurs 9.30am - 11.30am in term time. For children aged 2 to 4. Contact Barbara Smith 01740 620923 or Jane Jones 01740 620893.


Youth Club

Check with the contacts for COVID-19 updates. Monday Evenings in Term Time. Parish Hall. Juniors (50p) 6-7pm, Seniors (£1) 7-8:30pm. Table tennis, Xbox, Playstation, tuck shop and more. For info email natalie@Sedgefieldtowncouncil.gov.uk


Sedgefield Tea Dance

Check with the contacts for COVID-19 updates. For information, call Joyce 01740 622601 or Ann 01740 629070


Fishburn Art Group

Check with the contacts for COVID-19 updates. Fishburn Art Group is looking for new members. The group meets every Monday from 9.30am till noon. Anyone interested is welcome to visit to see what goes on and meet members. For further info call Julie Underwood on 07770 972 988 or email underlogs@talktalk.net


Sew Easy Sessions

Check with the contacts for COVID-19 updates. Mon 6.30-9pm & Wed 1-4pm. Venue: Parish Hall Boardroom

Arts & Entertainment

Email any reports/reviews to Geoff Millichap: sedgefieldartsandevents@outlook.com

In Conversation with Judith O’Reilly

Already an established writer of Northern non-fiction, the Durham writer Judith O’ Reilly has more recently built a huge fan base in the male-dominated world of action thriller writing. Her non-fiction debut, ‘Killing State’ was followed last year by ‘Curse the day’, which continued the adventures of her protagonist, the discharged solider Michael North.

Promotional tours, literary festivals and book signings were inevitably curtailed by the bans on public events last year but O’Reilly has been able to find inventive ways to maintain contact with her readers, from online readings of her work to Instagram posts and here, in conversation with South Tyneside Libraries.

Fans of David Baldacci, Andy McNab & Lee Child who have not yet encountered her will find a fresh new voice in Judith O’Reilly, who spent several years working in London as a journalist before returning north to commence writing political thrillers.

It is unusual for women to write in this genre, so much so that Judith even considered adopting a less feminine nom-de-plume in order to find a publisher. Thankfully her talent won through & two novels so far are the result, with more in the pipeline. Join her online as she talks about her life and work in a free event hosted online at 6pm on Thursday 22nd April.
https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/an-audience-with-judith-oreilly-tickets-140971199653


County Durham Folklore

Set some time aside on at 6pm on April 7th for what promises to be a fascinating presentation on the ancient folklore of Teesdale and Weardale.

Local historian & playwright Michael Lyons, alongside music by composer, Trevor Honeyman will reveal the mythology of Durham, which is rich with spooky stories filled with mysterious creatures.

This free talk will help you to tell your water-sprites from your Hob-thrushes, and is sure to help you to avoid falling foul of the terrifying Peg Powler!
Listen carefully to identify the scary creature pictured here!
This is certain to be a popular event so follow the link below early to claim your free e-ticket. https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/ancient-folklore-of-teesdale-and-weardale-tickets-137585137851?aff=ebdssbonlinesearch


Dance City CAT

The Dance City Training Centre will increase its intake for September 2021, so online workshops & 2-hour taster sessions are being organized online for April 6th & 7th.

The sessions are designed to appeal to young people aged 10-18 who might be interested in applying to join the programme. From September it is expected that in-person sessions will resume in Darlington & Newcastle. Please follow the links below for times & further details.
https://www.dancecity.co.uk/class/2000/virtual-cat-taster-day/dancecity.co.uk/classes-workshops/


entertain - a magazine for young people by young people

Enter CIC is a youth theatre group based in Ferryhill that some children from our area are involved in. Personally, I have been part of the group for just over six years and in that time I’ve been lucky enough to travel to Belgium to perform with the group and to perform at the Sage with Sir Tim Rice, to name but two of the highlights.

During COVID-19 we have worked on a number of projects, the most recent being a new magazine called “entertain”. The first edition was released on World Book Day and we plan to release a new one each term.

Despite being a theatre group, the magazine covers lots of topics. It is aimed at young people and written by young people and it includes recipes, reviews, jokes and a debate (I’m a firm believer that a Jaffa Cake is a cake!).

We have been holding weekly zoom meetings to work on this project and have had a lot of fun doing so. There are Interviews with Bella Ramsey, a young actress whose name you may recognise from The Worst Witch, Game of Thrones and His Dark Materials, and Mick Potts, a children’s actor best known for his role on CBBC’s Danny and Mick, can also be found in this edition.

entertain is completely free of charge and is accessed online, making it accessible to most. The link to the magazine is at www.yumpu.com/en/document/view/65338876/entertain or go to yumpu.com and search for ‘entertain’. Hannah Savage

Follow Us
Save Money

Sedgefield Energy Switch is a new initiative from Sedgefield Development Trust.

Working together with iChoosr, we're trying to help Sedgefield residents save money on their domestic gas and electricity bills. Sedgefield still continue to have the highest switching rate in the country.


Registrations 1670
People Registered 790

Key dates:

  Tuesday 30th March-Registration Opens
  Monday 17th May-Registration Closes
  Tuesday 18th May-Day of Auction
  Monday 31st May-Offers letters issued
  Tuesday 29th June-Offer acceptance closure

Read more
Register
Buy Local

Closed until further notice due to COVID-19

Sedgefield Farmers Market is held every first Sunday of the Month, on the village green, from 8.30am to 12.30pm. The market has about 20 stall holders each month, varying throughout the seasons, providing meats, vegatables, Handmade pies, pastries and cakes, Fish, Spices, Cheeses and more.

To book a stall call Roger Clubley: 01740 620609, email Farmers Market: farmers@sedgefielddevelopmenttrust.co.uk


Read more